Church and Main
Church and Main
Episode 169: Death, Dying and Caregiving with Andrew Donaldson
0:00
-58:52

Episode 169: Death, Dying and Caregiving with Andrew Donaldson

frequent guest Andrew Donaldson joins the show as he and Dennis talk about death and dying as well as being caregivers to their parents.
Transcript

No transcript...

There are a lot of dates in my life that are seared in my memory.  I can remember the date I graduated from high school: May 31, 1987.  I remember the day I got married: September 15, 2007.  I remember the day my father died: January 31, 2015.

Then there’s July 2, 2023.  That was the day that my mother suffered a stroke and our lives changed.  Mom went through a week in the hospital, followed by two in rehab and the moving to assisted living.  The following months have had their high points as she settled into a new life, and low points as she had several falls during the autumn.  All the while I had to become her power of attorney and start the process of talking with her (again) about her medical wishes and at times making medical decisions.  

It has not been easy.  I’m a guy that has always been anxious and my anxiety level is now at a 10.  Mom has more often than not noticed how I am now the one caring for her when a few decades ago, it was the other way around.  Welcome to the world of being an adult caregiving and dealing with loved ones as they go through massive changes towards the end of their lives.

In this episode, frequent guest Andrew Donaldson joins the show as he and Dennis talk about death and dying as well as being caregivers to their parents following health emergencies recently.

Show notes

Listen to the Podcast:

Spotify

Amazon

Listen Notes

iHeart Radio

YouTube

Pocket Casts

RSS Feed

Church and Main is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

0 Comments
Church and Main
Church and Main
Church and Main is a podcast at the intersection of faith and modern life. Join Pastor Dennis Sanders as he shares the stories of faith interacting with the ever-changing world of the 21st century.